Thanksgiving

Before I tell you about our first Thanksgiving as newly weds I need to give you a little back story on our cooking ability. My husband and I went to the same high school but we hardly knew one another. Our lives had been circling for years but we had never become friends. It wasn’t until 8 years later that we reconnected over a simple facebook message. At the time we lived 9 hours apart so while I was on a family vacation for Comic-Con in his new hometown of San Diego, I ended up sneaking away a few times to meet up with him. Our second date took place in the early hours of the morning. He attempted to bring me to a breakfast restaurant but because of the crowds during Comic-Con everything was full. Instead, we decided to cook together.

At the time I did not want to tell him about my extreme incompetence when it came to cooking. I decided that I would just follow his instructions and see how our breakfast turned out. Little did I know, he was hoping for me to lead this activity and tell him what to do. What followed was the worst meal I have ever had! Bacon was burnt, scrambled eggs were runny, and we had even managed to ruin TOAST! For the next year we avoided preparing complex meals with one another.

When we moved to Sicily we began to realize that we were going to need to learn to prepare meals for ourselves. Over the past three months we have been slowly learning how to grill, chop, slice, boil, grate, pour, mix, spread, melt, fry and bake. This all lead up to Thanksgiving. We were determined to shop for ingredients, prepare our own meal, and come out with a few dishes that were edible!

I was in charge of cornbread, mashed potatoes, and stuffing. My husband worked on the gravy and the turkey. Not only did we make it through the process alive, but the food was delicious! We were so proud of ourselves I cannot help but post some pictures of our food.

Please be nice, we are not professionals by any means!

Leave a Reply

