Happy Birthday!

This is the first year that I have had a birthday away from home! I was thinking about it the other day and I don’t think there has been a single year, in 27 years, were I haven’t had most or all of my family and friends to celebrate with!

My poor husband was feeling the pressure…and my dog ended up getting sick and throwing up all night. The weekend of my birthday, my husband ended up making up for it. He got me flowers and got our neighbors together to explore more of Catania. We went out for my two favorite things: Gelato and Cioccolata Calda. The Hot Chocolate here is so different then in the US. In Sicily they serve it at a pudding consistency. It tastes similar but the warm pudding texture makes it so much better! We walked around and window shopped and found the ONLY Disney store on the island!

Later that night my husband took me out to dinner. I had been craving Thai food and Sushi. My husband was able to find a beautiful restaurant called “Thai Princess” it was tucked down a hill and would have never been seen from the main road. The food was delicious! I never thought that Italy would serve some of my favorite Thai food!

After dinner we came home and opened presents and I skyped with some family. It was a great night!

Leave a Reply

